Go Back

MEC seeking chairs for primary care, medical specialty

27 Sep 2020

Current chairs Thompson and Sunday willing to continue

By: Leon Burrows, MD, medical staff president

The Medical Executive Committee announces they are seeking nominations for the Primary Care and Medical Specialty Department Chairs.  Our current Department Chairs, Drs. Marc Sunday and Kevin Thompson have expressed interest in an additional term and understand the importance of sharing the opening of these positions with all members of the medical staff that may be interested. 

Minimum Qualifications: 

  • Member of the Active staff with relevant clinical privileges
  • Member of the respective Primary Care or Medical Specialty Department

Committee Participation: 

  • Members of the Medical Executive Committee meet on the second and fourth Thursday of the month from 6:30 to 8 a.m.
  • Members of the Quality Operations Committee meet on the first Friday of the month from 7 to 8 a.m.
  • Members of Physician Leadership Council meet the third Thursday of the month from 6:30 to 7:30 a.m.

Department Chair Responsibilities – below is a sampling, more information can be located in the Salem Hospital Credentials Procedure Manual (Request from Medical Staff Office)

  • Oversee all clinically-related activities of the department;
  • Oversee all clinically-related activities of the department;
  • Provide ongoing surveillance of the performance of all individuals in the medical staff department who have been granted clinical privileges;
  • Recommend to the Credentials Committee the criteria for requesting clinical privileges that are relevant to the care provided in the medical staff department;
  • Recommend clinical privileges for each member of the department and other licensed independent practitioners practicing with privileges within the scope of the department
If interested, please contact Kelly Aebi, Manager of the Medical Staff Office for an application at 503-814-3889 or The application deadline is Oct. 12, 2020. All applications will be reviewed by the Medical Executive Committee and ballots will go out to the respective active members of the department