Go Back

Peer Review Committees seek new members

09 Oct 2022

We need your expertise! Nominations due Oct. 31

By: Jennifer Williams, MD, MPRC chair

The Multidisciplinary Peer Review Committee is seeking nominations for membership on MPRC and the Committee for Professionalism. Membership terms are three years beginning Jan. 1, 2023, with eligibility for additional terms. 

Current membership:

  • Dr. Gloria Alexander (Adult Hospitalist Medicine)
  • Dr. Laura Chong (OB/GYN)
  • Dr. Amy Dourgarian (Emergency Medicine)
  • Dr. Kris Dozier (General Surgery) – term expiring
  • Dr. Kamran Firoozi (Pulmonology/Intensive Care)
  • Dr. Harminder Gandhok (Cardiology)
  • Dr. Kyu Kim (Radiology)
  • Dr. Michelle Rasmussen (Family Medicine/Primary Care) – term expiring
  • Dr. Glen Roseborough (Vascular Surgery)
  • Dr. Sumit Singhal (Adult Hospitalist Medicine)
  • Dr. Jennifer Williams (Anesthesiology), Chair

There are three open positions up for election. Dr. Michelle Rasmussen is interested in serving another term and will run for re-election. After years of excellent service on MPRC, Dr. Kristopher Dozier and Dr. Glen Roseborough will step down in 2023. MPRC understands the importance of sharing the opening of these positions with all members of the Medical Staff who may be interested.

To make appropriately informed decisions about case reviews, the committee seeks to maintain representation from the following specialties:

  • Adult Hospitalist Medicine
  • Cardiology
  • Emergency Medicine
  • Intensive Care
  • OB/GYN
  • Primary Care
  • Radiology
  • Surgery

This year, the committee is particularly seeking members of the Department of Surgery to offer their surgical expertise for committee deliberations.

Minimum qualifications - MPRC: 

  • At least three years of clinical experience
  • Board certification
  • Associate or active member of the Medical Staff with “good standing” status*

MPRC meets on the first and third Tuesdays from 6:30 to 8 a.m.

MPRC responsibilities – below is a sampling, find more information in the Salem Hospital Peer Review Manual (Request from

  • Oversee the operation of the entire Salem Health Medical Staff peer review system including reviews of performance data as well as of cases involving clinical performance or professional conduct.
  • Approve all determinations and recommendations of the SH Medical Staff peer review system.
  • Develop, recommend and consistently implement policies and procedures for all peer review activities at Salem Health.
  • The MPRC is established by and subject to the authority of the Medical Executive Committee and the Salem Health Board of Trustees.

Current membership:

  • Dr. Bret Abbott (Radiology)
  • Dr. Daniel Costa (Psychiatry), Chair
  • Dr. Peter Hakim (Emergency Medicine)
  • Dr. Rick Jensen (Anesthesiology)
  • Dr. Charles McGee (OB/GYN, Emeritus)
  • Dr. Michelle Rasmussen (Family Medicine/Primary Care)
  • Dr. Jennifer Williams (Anesthesiology)
  • Dr. Webb Wilson (Emergency Medicine/Primary Care)

Please note that specific specialty representation is NOT required on this committee. We welcome physicians from all specialties on CFP

Minimum qualifications - CFP: 

  • At least three years of clinical experience at Salem Health
  • Board certification
  • Active member of the Medical Staff with “good standing” status*
  • Demonstrated excellent collaborative, administrative and communication skills

CFP meets on the second and fourth Wednesdays from 6:30 to 7:30 a.m.

CFP responsibilities – below is a sampling, find more details in the Salem Hospital Peer Review Manual (Request from

  • Promote professional behavior and provide leadership in establishing a professional working environment and collaborating with nursing and other disciplines to foster a collegial, cooperative approach to providing excellent patient care.
  • Perform peer review of professional conduct for all specialties and provide the MPRC with recommendations for peer review determinations and actions related to professional conduct.
  • The Committee for Professionalism is a subcommittee of the MPRC.

Selection process for MPRC and CFP

  • Each candidate must be nominated or endorsed by his/her Section Chief or Department Chair. A Section Chief/Dept. Chair may nominate more than one candidate. Email nominations to MPRC Chair
  • Interested candidates will receive an application after they are nominated and can return it by fax to: 503-814-2806 or email to no later than Monday, Oct. 31, 2022.   
  • Candidates are approved by the MPRC and the Medical Executive Committee prior to being placed on the ballot.
  • Election to the committee is by majority vote of all active status medical staff members.

Questions? Contact Dr. Jennifer Williams, current Multidisciplinary Peer Review Committee Chair, or Peer Review staff at   

Reminder: the deadline to submit an application is Monday, Oct. 31, 2022.

*Good standing describes medical staff who maintain qualifications for privileges and assigned medical staff category; are not currently under a suspension or restriction.